The Women of Spirit® Award was established in 1993 by former Carlow President Sister Grace Ann Geibel RSM, to recognize outstanding women, who, as leaders in the community, exemplify the Carlow University mission. The awardees in turn share their expertise with the Carlow community by actively participating in the life of the University and in the development of its students. Awardees are nominated and considered by a Women of  Spirit® selection committee made up of former awardees and University officials.

Four women relax at the Women of Spirit awards celebration with two of them embracing.

Selection criteria includes:

  • Strong commitment to values
  • Accomplishments that have led to new knowledge or discoveries
  • Innovation or leadership that has brought about change for the good of humankind

Awards ceremony

The 15th annual Women of Spirit® Awards program honoring the 2020 awardees will be virtual on April 21, 2021 at 7 p.m.

Award title

The title was chosen to honor the first real “women of spirit” — the University’s founders, the Sisters of Mercy. Women of Spirit® have had a profound influence over Carlow University since its founding nine decades ago (view past honorees).

2020 Awardees are:

  • The Honorable Kim Berkeley Clark
  • Cynthia D. Hundorfean
  • Kristen S. Kurland
  • Karen L. Larrimer
  • Anne V. Lewis
  • Nancy D. Washington, PhD
  • Sister Susan Welsh, RSM
Seven Women of Spirit honorees’ headshots are displayed equally in two rows.
2020 Women of Spirit Top row, from left: The Honorable Kim Berkeley Clark, President Judge, 5th Judicial District, Pennsylvania, Kristen S. Kurland, Professor of Architecture, Information Systems, and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University, Karen L. Larrimer, Executive Vice President, Chief Customer Officer, Head of Retail Banking, PNC Financial Services Group, Inc., Anne V. Lewis Board Chair, Oxford Development Company, bottom row from left, Nancy D. Washington, PhD, Educator and civic leader, Sister Susan Welsh, RSM, President and CEO (retired), Pittsburgh Mercy Health System, and Cynthia D. Hundorfean, Chief Executive Officer, President, Allegheny Health Network.
© Copyright 2021 Carlow University. All rights reserved.