2021 Athletic Walk of Fame ceremony about more than just sports

PITTSBURGH – On Carlow’s 92nd birthday, Carlow University honored three standout student-athletes for their athletic prowess, academic achievement and alliance with the University’s values.

Alysa Fairman, Olivia Miller and Annamarie Osiecki were recognized September 24 with Celtic Awards, and their names were added to the Walk of Fame. Named for the University mascot, the Celtic Awards annually honor student-athletes for their contributions both on and off the field.

Fairman, a softball player and recent nursing graduate from Pittsburgh, Pa., received the Outstanding Student-Athlete Award. Head coach Glenn Zinsmeister said he admired not only her athletic abilities, but also her reserved leadership style and her determination: She served as the only healthy pitcher as the team entered the United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA) World Series.

“Alysa was calculated and softball smart,” Zinsmeister said. “She comes from a family of athletes, and was all heart. Alysa was one of the most athletic kids we ever had, was humblest about her role, and I think probably every athlete on the team looked up to her.”

Miller, the 2021 River States Conference Athlete of the Year, is the recipient of this year’s Outstanding Senior Athlete Award. A Bolivar, Pa., native and recent biology graduate, she held roster spots on both the cross country and track and field teams. The award is given to a student-athlete who has participated in a sport for four years at Carlow, making significant contributions to the team each year. Miller was recognized for her leadership and on-field performance.

“Her desire to be better than just good fuels her work ethic,” said head coach Tony Anderson. “She is always willing to go above and beyond, not only for herself, but for others as well. She is a great mentor for other athletes and also a great tutor for other students.”

Osiecki, a softball player and recent biology graduate from Erie, Pa., received the Spirit Award, which honors commitment, dedication, determination and team spirit. Osiecki was lauded for her attitude, leadership, team-building skills and commitment to success.

“Anna, having arguably two career-ending injuries, still made all of our games and continued to be a presence for and with the team,” Zinsmeister said. “Anna’s dedication to the team was amazing, and her smile warmed my heart.”

The Celtic Awards were started by George Sliman, who served as Carlow’s athletic director for 22 of his 37 years at the University. Sliman oversaw the growth of Carlow athletics from five women’s sports and 65 student-athletes to 14 men’s and women’s sports and nearly 200 student-athletes. The Walk of Fame, which he created in 2003, has become one of Carlow’s most cherished traditions.

© Copyright 2024 Carlow University. All rights reserved.