Three Women’s Soccer players earn spots on All-RSC teams

Karina Graziani -

Rachel Flory RSCPhoto by Robert Cifone


MIDDLETOWN, Ohio --- Three Carlow University women's soccer players earned All-River States Conference honors, the league announced Friday.

All-RSC awards are voted on by the league's head coaches. There are 14 players each named to the All-RSC First and Second Teams. That includes four forwards, four midfielders, four defenders and two goalkeepers on each team.

Center back Rachel Flory (SR/Huntington Beach, Calif.) and goalkeeper Lauren Forte (SO/Johnstown, Pa.) were named to the All-RSC First Team, and forward Alexa Schwab (JR/Conway, Pa.) was named to the second team. Abby Marinucci (SO/Uniontown, Pa.) earned to Champions of Character award, which recognizes one player from each school who best exemplifies the five values of NAIA Champions of Character: Respect, Responsibility, Integrity, Servant Leadership and Sportsmanship.

This season saw the Celtics end the year 4-9-5 overall and 2-3-5 in the RSC, narrowly missing the playoffs.

Flory was the anchor that held the back line together during her time as a Celtic. She played a significant role in five shutout games this season.

Forte was first in the league with a 0.85 goals against average (GAA) and ninth in the league with 4.81 saves per game. She racked up a total 77 saves in 1369:50 minutes in net.

Schwab led the team with six goals and ended the season third in the conference in shots on goal per game with an average 2.67.

Flory and Forte also earned USCAA All-American second team honors, as well as RSC Defensive Player of the Week nods this season. Schwab was awarded USCAA honorable mention, announced earlier this week. Forte and Marinucci were also named to the USCAA All-Academic team, which is awarded to sophomores or above with a 3.5 or higher GPA.

Ohio Christian University senior forward Brooke Lezotte earned a big honor as RSC Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year. She led the forward category of the All-RSC First Team after putting up 22 goals, 46 points and five game-winning goals.

IU East junior Dejhanna O'Bryant led the midfielders in votes and was named the RSC Women's Soccer Player of the Year.

WVU Tech sophomore goalkeeper Jenna Miller was voted the RSC Women's Soccer Defensive Player of the Year. She played in 15 games with 1.15 goals against on average and led the Golden Bears to fourth place in the standings.

IU East's Shane Meridith was named RSC Women's Soccer Coach of the Year in his third season. He has the Red Wolves at 12-3-3 overall entering the championship game.

IU East freshman goalkeeper Gabby Mitchum notched another award for the Red Wolves as the RSC Women's Soccer Newcomer of the Year. She gave up 0.98 goals per game in 16 starts.
Follow the Celtics on social media @CarlowCeltics on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and "like" and subscribe to our YouTube channel to watch preseason interviews and Celtics Spotlight videos.

  • News
  • Athletics