Carlow tied for top of RSC in Women’s Cross Country Scholar-Athletes

Kristin Seamon -


The Carlow women’s cross country team finished in a tie for the most honorees on the 2017 River States Conference Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete Team. The team includes 47 student-athletes from the 12 conference teams.

To be eligible for the scholar-athlete team, honorees must have a 3.25 grade-point average or higher, compete in an RSC sport and be nominated by their school. Carlow and University of Rio Grande (Ohio) tied for the lead this year with six team members apiece.

The Carlow awardees are Georgie Morris (SO/Shaler Township, Pa.), Megan Horgan (SO/Bethel Park, Pa.), Katie Winter (SO/Pittsburgh, Pa.), Janika Hutton (SO/Monongahela, Pa.), Leanne Glaub (JR/West Seneca, N.Y.) and Lea Chwilka (SR/Coraopolis, Pa.).

The complete list of RSC honorees can be found at

The NAIA has a similar awards program, the NAIA-Daktronics Scholar-Athlete award, which is for juniors and seniors with a 3.50+ GPA. The following are the conference winners for 2017. 

  • News
  • Athletics